Chilanga : Exported

Time to make this blog a little bit more personal. I’ve been living with my Mexican for nearly two years now. And I’m beginning to feel a bit closer to being Mexican myself, it’s a beautiful country, wonderful people and delicious food. There are so many regions, and although I’ve only visited a handful I know there’s so much more to explore.

Let’s start with the Chilango – a native from Mexico City, that’s where we spend most of our time when we are in Mexico, hanging out in the city centre cafés like El Péndulo or day-trips out to Xochimilco and Teotihuacan. Daniel’s family live in the north of the city, so everywhere’s pretty accessible.

chilango

I’m pretty much a stranger in my own city anyway, all of my friends come from outside the city, so there we are all exports, from Mexico, France, Spain, Ecuador, Italy, London, Manchester, Sheffield – I happen to be export by emotion. Birmingham has always been a massive cultural melting pot and I love being in the middle of that!

Please leave a comment

