British Blogger Selection

I am… 30, British, European, blonde, shy, hedonistic, short, sister, daughter, fiancée, prometida, guërita, supply-chain coordinator, brummie, chilanga, English, happy, Master of Arts, fluent, Guide Leader.

British Blogging

British Blogging

Twenty things that define me. I joined this blogging community : #BritishBloggerSelection. And it made me think about my personal identity. A few weeks ago I wrote about language and identity, but what else makes an identity? My passport might say British Citizen, and I might get a lump in my throat when I hear Rule Britannia at Last Night of the Proms, and I did get all excited when we won everything in the London Olympics – but I feel more like a citizen of the World than of my corner of Birmingham, in Great Britain.

Being British at the 2012 Queen's Jubilee River Pageant

Being British at the 2012 Queen’s Jubilee River Pageant

Individual but Universal. That’s another theme explored in Laberinto de Soledad (Octavio Paz). One alone but part of the whole. I’ve always been keen to surround myself with other languages and cultures, even when I was small. Like there’s no point in saying I’m British because I’m also European, I’m also Brummie, and I’m also a person – like these identity barriers shouldn’t exist because we are all important and we all laugh and cry as people of this Earth.

3 thoughts on “British Blogger Selection

  1. Thank you for promoting the concept of multiple, co-existing identities.

    It always gets my goat when Brits refer to ‘Europeans’, as in, those living on the mainland, as ‘the other’. What do they think they are? A separate species that dropped down onto those isles from outer space…? And, applying that same logic, would they consider Sicilians or Maltese people non-Europeans? Are Japanese people not Asian because they very much have their own culture and they live on an island like British people? I don’t get it…

  2. We do have a lot of anti-European sentiment in the UK, and I find it so frustrating! We have that phrase “on the continent”, as though to put even more distance between us. We are all people bound by a common history so why are we segregating ourselves? I cannot identify with being exclusively one thing, be it Brummie, British, or even European – I’ve lived in Sheffield, Leicester, Spain, France, my life is now intertwined permanently with Latin America – so of course I am all these things. All of us are a product of our experiences and we take so many things from so many different places that the only way we can exist is by these multiple identities forming one.

  3. So true and what a cute photo LOL!

    I live in Berlin and I’m always having to explain why Brits don’t consider themselves to be European, although I do. So glad to know that we’re not alone in this!

Please leave a comment

